16.07.2021

RTL Luxembourg digitizes popular sports across the country

The RTL Group is a giant in the media world: holdings in 68 TV stations, eight streaming platforms and 30 radio stations with production companies worldwide. Last but not least, the dynamically growing digital business made the group want to expand its market. With the help of Staige, RTL Luxembourg has integrated the most important sports – soccer, handball, basketball and volleyball – into its portfolio.

The challenge_

RTL Luxembourg’s sports department wanted to expand its range to include the most important sports in the country. Soccer, volleyball, basketball and handball were to be streamed to fans and viewers with live broadcasts and reporting from now on. More than 50 different venues per weekend during the season – the manpower required for camera teams would not have been economical.

Therefore, RTL looked for a digital solution for this complicated use case and found it in the K2 camera and software from Staige.

The solution_

The fully automatic camera system from Staige offers RTL the possibility to broadcast all matches from many venues in parallel on the network. The image quality meets the high requirements of a media company and the proximity to the production site in Essen is additionally convincing. For service and questions, RTL has a contact partner in Staige that serves the complete value chain from production to hardware to software and delivery. Individual solutions that were necessary for this project were developed together.

‘By broadcasting the most popular sports, RTL Luxembourg continued to secure its place as Luxembourg's biggest TV station. Through our reporting and broadcasting of moving images, we also promote enthusiasm for sports among our viewers throughout the country. In this way, RTL ultimately contributes to understanding within the different cultures and nationalities in Luxembourg, because sports speak an international language!’

Pascal Casel - Business Platform & Diversification Director at RTL Luxembourg

Outlook_

Currently, around 50 sports fields in Luxembourg are equipped with the intelligent camera system, and new ones are being added all the time. Every week, dozens of matches are streamed on the company’s own platform RTL Live Arena, with many viewers. RTL Luxembourg is thus positioning itself and the country of Luxembourg as digital pioneers. Clubs, coaches and players use Staige coaching for professional match analysis and thus contribute to the targeted and effective development of Luxembourg’s athletes and young talents.

Further Questions?

A personal conversation with highly accessible staff is superior to any website. Feel free to contact us at any time with inquiries or comments. We look forward to providing you with additional information, and, at your convenience, we can arrange a full-fledged demonstration.

kontakt@aisportswatch.com
+49 (0)201 246 851-0

16.07.2021

RTL Luxemburg digitalisiert den Sport

Die RTL-Gruppe ist ein Riese in der Medienwelt: Beteiligungen an 68 Fernsehsendern, acht Streaming-Plattformen und 30 Radiostationen mit weltweiten Produktionsgesellschaften. Nicht zuletzt hat das dynamisch wachsende Digitalgeschäft dafür gesorgt, dass der Konzern seinen Markt erweitern wollte. Mithilfe von Staige hat RTL Luxemburg die wichtigsten Sportarten – Fußball, Handball, Basketball und Volleayball – in sein Programm integriert.

Die Herausforderung_

Die Sportredaktion von RTL Luxemburg wollte ihr Portfolio um die wichtigsten Sportarten im Land erweitern. Fußball, Volleyball, Basketball und Handball sollten fortan mit Liveübertragungen und Berichterstattungen an Fans und Zuschauer gestreamt werden. Über 50 verschiedene Spielstätten je Wochenende in der Saison – der Personalaufwand für Kamerateams wäre nicht wirtschaftlich gewesen.

Deshalb hat RTL eine digitale Lösung für diesen komplizierten Anwendungsfall gesucht und in der Kamera K2 und der Software von Staige gefunden.

Die Lösung_

Das vollautomatische Kamerasystem von Staige bietet RTL die Möglichkeit, sämtliche Spiele von vielen Spielstätten parallel ins Netz zu übertragen. Die Bildqualität entspricht den hohen Anforderungen eines Medienunternehmens und die Nähe zum Produktionsstandort in Essen überzeugt zusätzlich. Für Service und Fragen hat RTL einen Ansprechpartner, der von der Produktion über die Hardware bis hin zur Software und Auslieferung die komplette Wertschöpfungskette bedient. Individuelle Lösungen, die für dieses Projekt nötig waren, wurden gemeinsam entwickelt.

„Durch die Übertragungen der populärsten Sportarten konnte RTL Luxemburg sich weiterhin seinen Platz als größter Fernsehsender Luxemburgs sichern. Durch unsere Berichterstattung und die Ausstrahlung von Bewegtbildern fördern wir zudem die Sportbegeisterung unserer Zuschauer im ganzen Land. Damit trägt RTL letztlich zur Verständigung innerhalb der unterschiedlichen Kulturen und Nationalitäten in Luxemburg bei, denn der Sport spricht eine internationale Sprache!“

Pascal Casel – Business Platform & Diversification Director bei RTL Luxemburg

Ausblick_

Aktuell sind ungefähr 50 Sportplätze in Luxemburg mit dem intelligenten Kamerasystem ausgestattet und es kommen ständig neue dazu. RTL Luxemburg positioniert sich und das Land Luxemburg damit als digitaler Vorreiter. Vereine, Trainer und Spieler nutzen Staige-Coaching zur professionellen Spielanalyse und tragen somit zur gezielten und effektiven Weiterentwicklung der luxemburgischen Sportler und Nachwuchstalente bei.

Ihr habt noch Fragen?

Das persönliche Gespräch kann keine Website ersetzen. Kontaktiert uns bei allen Fragen zu unseren Produkten! Gerne stellen wir euch auch weiterführende Informationen zur Verfügung oder vereinbaren einen Termin für eine Demo-Vorführung.

kontakt@aisportswatch.com
+49 (0)201 246 851-0